Politics and polity in early Central Himalayan region

Jhanjh, Dev Kumar (2023) Politics and polity in early Central Himalayan region. The Encyclopedia of Ancient History: Asia and Africa. pp. 1-4.

[img] Text - Published Version
Download (118kB)


The region of the Central Himalayas is divided into the four parallel zones of Tarai-Bhabhar, the Lesser Himalayas, the Greater Himalayas, and the Trans-Himalayas. Geographically, it spreads over an area of around 54,000 square kilometers. Spatially, it is divided into two subdivisions – Garhwal and Kumaon (both in Uttarakhand state). Garhwal is made up of Chamoli, Dehradun, Pauri, Tehri, and Uttarkashi districts, and the area of Kumaon includes the districts of Almora, Bageshwar, Champawat, Nainital, Pithoragarh, and Udham Singh Nagar

Item Type: Article
Authors: Jhanjh, Dev Kumar
Document Language:
Subjects: Social sciences
Divisions: Azim Premji University > School of Development
Full Text Status: Public
URI: http://publications.azimpremjiuniversity.edu.in/id/eprint/5211
Publisher URL:

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item